In addition to many global players and hidden champions, the business region Lower Saxony is home to a strong, internationally active small and medium-sized enterprise sector.
The Hannover-Braunschweig-Göttingen-Wolfsburg metropolitan region in particular is a leading German industrial region in the fields of production and mobility and also has a large skilled crafts sector.

Competitive companies

Although the industrial sectors in Lower Saxony are often dominated by large companies such as Volkswagen, they are at the same time significantly influenced by a large medium-sized supplier industry. Lower Saxony's mobility sector alone provides more than 600,000 jobs, 70 % of them in SMEs. This makes Lower Saxony Germany's number 1 in automotive manufacturing.

In order to remain competitive, there is an increasing demand in the manufacturing, mobility, and skilled crafts sectors for the adoption of advanced AI technologies, as well as the need for increased cybersecurity.

Expertise for the region

DAISEC combines leading international expertise in the fields of Artificial Intelligence ( L3S Research Center), Cybersecurity ( CISPA Helmholtz Center for Information Security), Manufacturing ( Production Technology Center Hanover PZH), Mobility ( Lower Saxony Research Center for Automotive Engineering NFF) and Crafts ( Heinz Piest Institute for Skilled Crafts Technology HPI).

We build on the work of the three established Mittelstand Digital Centers Manufacturing in Hanover and Lingen as well as Crafts in Hanover, which are coordinated by our core partners, and expand them.

As a result, our hub fits into the existing digital innovation landscape in Lower Saxony and expands and complements the range of services offered by the Mittelstand Digital Centers to reach a larger number of SMEs and give them the opportunity to deploy cutting-edge AI and Cybersecurity technologies.

Der Wirtschaftsstandort Niedersachsen beherbergt neben vielen Global Playern und Hidden Champions einen starken, international aktiven Mittelstand.
Besonders die Metropolregion Hannover-Braunschweig-Göttingen-Wolfsburg ist dabei eine führende deutsche Industrieregion in den Bereichen Produktion und Mobilität und verfügt zudem über einen großen Handwerkssektor.

Wettbewerbsfähige Unternehmen

Die niedersächsischen Branchen werden zwar häufig von Großunternehmen wie Volkswagen geprägt, aber zugleich von einer großen mittelständischen Zuliefererindustrie entscheidend unterstützt. Allein der Mobilitätssektor bietet in Niedersachsen mehr als 600.000 Arbeitsplätze, 70 % davon in KMU. So ist Niedersachsen die deutschlandweite Nummer 1 im Automobilbau.

Um wettbewerbsfähig zu bleiben, steigt in den Sektoren Produktion, Mobilität und Handwerk die Nachfrage nach der Einführung moderner KI-Technologien sowie die Notwendigkeit einer erhöhten Cybersicherheit.

Kompetenz für die Region

DAISEC vereint international führende Kompetenzen in den Bereichen Künstliche Intelligenz ( Forschungszentrum L3S), Cybersecurity ( CISPA Helmholtz-Zentrum für Informationssicherheit), Produktion ( Produktionstechnisches Zentrum Hannover PZH), Mobilität ( Niedersächsisches Forschungszentrum Fahrzeugtechnik NFF) und Handwerk ( Heinz-Piest-Institut für Handwerk HPI).

Wir bauen auf die Arbeit der drei etablierten Mittelstand Digital-Zentren Produktion in Hannover und Lingen sowie Handwerk in Hannover auf, die von unseren Kernpartnern koordiniert werden, und erweitern diese.

Dadurch fügt sich unser Hub in die bestehende digitale Innovationslandschaft in Niedersachsen ein und erweitert und ergänzt das Angebot der Mittelstand Digital-Zentren, um eine größere Anzahl von KMUs zu erreichen und ihnen die Möglichkeit zu geben, modernste KI- und Cybersecurity-Technologien einzusetzen.